Pio Pio

Address: 84-02 Northern Blvd Jackson Heights, NY 11372

Cuisine: Peruvian/ Spanish

Meal Price: $-$$

Website: http://www.piopio.com/

Pio Pio is a Peruvian restaurant with multiple locations through out the city. I have been to the Manhattan (604 Tenth Ave) and the Jackson Heights locations.  Both locations are ideal for dates, a night on the town, or large group dinners.  The menu for all locations appear to be the same. I visited the Manhattan location multiple times and have had a great experience each time; the Jackson Heights location however, it’s safe to say I won’t be visiting anytime soon. Why ? because I had such a terrible experience that I did not tip ( I ALWAYS tip my server).

I visited the Jackson Heights location on a Friday for a friend’s birthday. In total there were 10 of us in the party so it took some time for us to be state which was totally understandable because the restaurant was packed. When we were finally seated, our server introduced himself and disappeared for about 10 minutes. We didn’t get water and utensils for another 10 minutes. We were seated around 9:45-10:00 PM, our entrees did not come until around 11:00 PM. All the while, another large party that came after us had their meals almost instantly. When our entrees did arrive, they were half way cold.  Its safe to say at that point we were just happy to eat because we were too hungry to complain.

Despite the not so speedy service I thoroughly enjoyed my meal. For my appetizer, I ordered the “Palta Rellena de Camarones”  which is half of an avocado stuffed with shrimp, red onions, tomatoes and corn marinated with a fresh cilantro-lime dressing. I paired that with a “Red Wine Sangria,  which also tasted amazing! For my entree, I had the “Lomo Saltadowhich is filet mignon strips, stir-fried with soy sauce, spices, red onion, parsley, tomatoes & french fries, served with white rice.  One good thing about the whole night was that the cake (which was a delicious Tres Leches) was on the house. Maybe the experience would’ve been different if we didn’t go on a busy night… maybe I’ll try again one day.

I would definitely recommend the Manhattan location than Jackson Heights.

xO.

IMG_1435

Red Wine Sangria


IMG_1436

Palta Rellena de Camarones


IMG_1439

Lomo Saltado

Leave a Reply

